Five Representatives added as supporters of H.R. 997, bringing total to 88

Five additional members of Congress have signed on as co-sponsors of H.R. 997, the English Language Unity Act. The addition of Rep. Dean Heller (NV), Rep. Jason Chaffetz (UT), Rep. Donald Manzullo (IL), Rep. Phil Gingrey (GA) and Rep. Vern Buchanan (FL) brings the total number of co-sponsors of the bill to 88, or more than one-fifth of the entire House of Representatives.

Additionally, four U.S. House members have signed on a co-sponsors of H.R. 764, which would reduce the multilingual voting ballot requirements currently enforced by the U.S. government. The new co-sponsors – Rep. Ted Poe (TX), Rep. Patrick McHenry (NC), Rep. Rodney Alexander (LA) and Rep. Roscoe Bartlett (MD) – bring the total number of co-sponsors to 17.

U.S. English, Inc. is the nation's oldest and largest non-partisan citizens' action group dedicated to preserving the unifying role of the English language in the United States. Founded in 1983 by the late Sen. S.I. Hayakawa of California, U.S. English, Inc. ( ) now has more than 2 million members.